15 students qualify for KSPA state journalism

Kareem Dadkhah, reporter

KSPA regional contest results were released on March 6 and South took home 19 awards. The Kansas Scholastic Press Association has contest categories ranging from news writing to video PSAs. It is a great achievement to qualify for state and we wish our Raiders good luck in April!

The Patriot’s  assistant editor Simon Cox placed first in news writing.

“It’s always cool when you manage to place,” Cox said. “It’s like, huh, I guess I’m not bad at this.”

State qualifiers: Gabbie Granoff, Avery Tilley, Erika Spencer, Ellen Lundin, Julia Schnittker, Brenden Pletke, Vielka Corrales, Greta Waller, Brody King, Leila Henderson, Ren Park, Simon Cox, Fletcher Knowles, Lexie Johnson, and Kareem Dadkhah.